A little bio-maintenance

I just completed my pre-op screening this morning. I had a great nurse that really knew how to draw blood. Of all the people who have taken my blood I have always had the best experience with men. From my experience it seems that the men don’t worry about causing pain. Hell, it’s a large needle anyway. We all know it’s going to hurt, so why not get it over with? The irony is that my phlebotomists haven’t been hesitant when rooting around for the vein—they just go for it and find the li’l bastard. I think all of my female phlebotomists have been sadists.

But this is a little off-topic, I was just so honestly excited about having my blood drawn in a quick and relatively painless way that I lost my sense of direction here.

If you haven’t guessed by now I’m having a little shoulder surgery done this week. I injured it three years ago when I started going to the gym after a long period of time, and instead of working up to heavy weights, I just went for it. Boy did I pay. So after three years of pain and discomfort I figured it was time to find out what was going on in there.

One fuzzy MRI later, I discover there’s a bone spur on my acronium (or around there somewhere), a tear in my rotator cuff, and my labrum has some fraying. Now in spite of these several problems I’ve maintained full movement in my arm. My chiropractor (Sue Wahlers 602.993.2009) also helped me manage the pain and improved things quite a bit.

Being young (at least by my doctor’s standards) and not a huge fan of even the idea of a cortisone shot, surgery’s not really a bad deal for me. It seems I’ll have minimal work to be done inside (though I won’t know until he goes in there), a quick recovery, and I’ll be new and improved, or repaired and operational, again in a couple of months. It’s better than waiting 30 years and suffering from terrible arthritis and all that.

This being my first surgery I’m a bit wary of the whole sodium pentathol thing—I don’t know how far removed it is chemically, but it doesn’t sound much different from sodium thiopental, and considering my last chemistry class was 1999, it’s close enough for me. And what if I’m that 1% that experiences anesthesia awareness? The Dateline story I saw when I was 8 was enough to forever burn that into my mind. Yikes! Still, 1% is pretty slim, but considering my family’s history with the odds… well, let’s just say I’m not a gambling man. Now that I think about it though, maybe I should start?

Anyway, it’s just a couple of cameras and tiny tools in my shoulder via arthroscope. I’ll see my doctor a couple of weeks after to look at pictures and see what he did in there. How cool is that?! Surgery just keeps getting better and better. If I get the pictures I’ll post some of them for you.

I hear that shoulder surgery is usually not a lot of fun to recover from. While my procedure shouldn’t be anything too intense, it’s still a bit to get done. I’ll lose movement from surgery I’ve not lost from the injury, and that’s bothersome. In the mean time, I’ve got my Netflix queue loaded to enjoy while I’m loaded on morphine. I’ve also got a borrowed copy of Call of Duty 4: Modern Combat to entertain me, and hopefully my new favorite t-shirt will arrive in time for me to enjoy slumbering in it.

After surgery my immediate goal is to get back in the gym. I’ve gone regularly since August of 2009 and now that I’ve got the routine down I’m ready to bump it up a notch and start taking it seriously. Come on, shoulder… don’t hold me up.

And before I forget, when you see someone in the movies get injured in the shoulder and still running around, it’s total BS. While you can sit up without using your arms, you can’t sit up without using your shoulders. Your shoulder gets injured and you’re going down. It seems like a moving a toe somehow ties into your shoulders. Crazy.

And on that note, I’m ready. Let’s go.

Leave a Reply

